The 2008 Berkeley Mini Statistical Mechanics Meeting

January 11-13, 2008



The meeting will start on Friday evening, and go through until Sunday lunch. Invited lecture sessions will have 30 minute time slots for each lecturer. These sessions will be in the morning and afternoon of Saturday, January 12 and the morning of Sunday, January 13.

Friday evening and, if necessary, Saturday evening are reserved for contributed presentations. Each contributed presentation will have a poster display and a two minute oral summary/advertisement.

Breakfast and lunch will be provided at the meeting on both Saturday and Sunday. For evening meals, the participants will be free to sample the many superb restaurants in the Berkeley and San Francisco area. Please view David Chandler's recommendations on several restaurants. 


Invited Speakers:

David Ceperley (University of Illinois), Paul Chaikin (New York University), Sharon Glotzer (University of Michigan), Sandra Greer (University of Maryland), Alexander Grosberg (University of Minnesota), Sarah Keller (University of Washington), Jorge Kurchan (ESPC Paris), James Langer (University of California, Santa Barbara), Andrew Mackenzie (University of St. Andrews), James Sethna (Cornell University), Eugene Shakhnovich (Harvard University), Norbert Scherer (University of Chicago), Frederic Van-Wijland (University Paris Sud), Erik Winfree (California Institute of Technology), Thomas Witten (University of Chicago), Matthieu Wyart (Saclay & Harvard)

Other functionaries and participants include: Hans C. Andersen (Stanford University), Bruce Berne (Columbia University), Arup Chakraborty (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Gavin Crooks (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), Christoph Dellago (University of Vienna), Juan P. Garrahan (University of Nottingham), Phillip Geissler (University of California, Berkeley), Mike L. Klein (University of Pennsylvania), Vijay Pande (Stanford), Berend Smit (University of California, Berkeley), John Weeks (University of Maryland), Peter Young (University of California, Santa Cruz)






Back to the meeting website